Entries for this giveaway are now closed.
You can still enter our active giveaways
.

Today I’m reviewing The Complete Photo Guide to Jewelry Making by Tammy Powley. Never heard of this book? Here’s a little bit about it:
This book is a comprehensive how-to book about all aspects of jewelry making. It serves as a reference and technique guide for .all the common methods and styles of jewelry: beaded jewelry, wire, crystals and gems, polymer clay, PMC. The organization provides easy access to information with step-by-step directions and 600 full-color photos for clear understanding. Easy projects allow the reader to try the techniques in each section. Galleries of jewelry by a various artists offer the reader examples and inspiration to pursue the hobby for themselves.
I don’t make jewelry very often, it’s just not my favorite craft to do. I do make a few necklaces and things every now and then though and whenever I do make jewelry in the future, I will definitely be using this book to help me out with using jump rings, wire working, etc.
This book is so thick- it has 300 pages and over 700 color photos to teach you how to make jewelry! The complete photo guide to jewelry making covers so many different techniques and ideas, all of them with great step-by-step photos!
The “Basics” at the beginning of the book cover what tools you need to use for what and the different types of jewelry findings. There are tutorials and projects for stringing beads, wire working, metal soldering, chain making, fiber, resin, mixed media and more!
After all of the project tutorials there is an inspiration gallery showing projects from other artists and a resource guide.
I think this book is definitely helpful for beginner jewelry makers (like me!) who want to learn more about making jewelry, which tools you need, how to make jump rings, and more.
According to her bio, the author Tammy Powley, has studied a large variety of jewelry techniques, from beading to metalsmithing, and has worked extensively with glass, fibers, and paper art.
 
You can pick up the book on Amazon, here.
If you want to win a copy, let me know your name and email in the comments below! Entries close July 22nd, 2014. US residents only. Winner has 1 week to contact me.

By katiesmith

Have you entered all our giveaways?




Comments

73 Comments so far

  1. Betty on July 16, 2014 8:15 am

    I have lots of beads and jewelry-making tools. This book would be a great help in honing my skills.

  2. Diana on July 16, 2014 8:46 am

    i started making earrings but i learned all from internet i am still struggling with it would love this book <3

  3. Janet Cobb on July 16, 2014 9:04 am

    This would be great for learning techniques I’m not familiar with yet!

  4. April on July 16, 2014 9:12 am

    I’ve been wanting to get into making jewelry ever since making some earrings with my daughters. A comprehensive guide like this would be a GREAT start!

  5. Gertrude Ezell on July 16, 2014 9:23 am

    Wonderful giveaway, thank you.
    Gertrude Ezell
    tsimshiangoddess@gmail.com

  6. Debi on July 16, 2014 9:43 am

    This looks like it would be a great beginners resource!

  7. Nina on July 16, 2014 9:45 am

    Please please make me happy id love to win these and get making:)
    Thanks x

  8. Jenifer on July 16, 2014 11:11 am

    I would love to win! Thanks for the helpful review!

  9. jane d on July 16, 2014 11:23 am

    I’d love to win this for my daughter!

  10. amyinsc15 on July 16, 2014 11:24 am

    Book looks interesting! Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. Teresa on July 16, 2014 11:29 am

    This would be great for learning how to do more than just the basics, and tips for those little things that I usually get stumped on. :)

  12. Karey on July 16, 2014 11:35 am

    Cool book! I’m going to have to check this out!

  13. Kimberly D. on July 16, 2014 11:46 am

    I’m sort of new to jewelry making and this book would be so helpful! thanks so much.

  14. Patricia on July 16, 2014 11:46 am

    Thanks for the chance to win such a great book!

  15. Deanne Johnson on July 16, 2014 11:47 am

    Sounds like a good tool to have. I love creative crafts but need ideas to make my jewelry projects more interesting looking.

  16. Robin Christofaro on July 16, 2014 11:55 am

    This sounds great..thanks! robin(dot)christofaro(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. Pam S on July 16, 2014 11:59 am

    This books looks wonderful! It would be great to have such a comprehensive reference for jewelry techniques. Thanks for the chance to win!

  18. Monica VandeWerken on July 16, 2014 12:10 pm

    I’d love to have this to get me started making jewelry for my 9 sisters, 2 daughters and many nieces!

  19. Arcia on July 16, 2014 12:14 pm

    Would love some more great Ideas. Thanks

  20. Margie on July 16, 2014 12:18 pm

    Great book! Thanks for the giveaway!

  21. Debbie R. on July 16, 2014 12:20 pm

    I am mostly self taught, so it would be nice to see if I’m taking the long way around to do things! I appreciate the opportunity.

  22. Julie Moretti on July 16, 2014 12:21 pm

    Oh! How cool! Would love to win! Thanks for the giveaway!

  23. Barbara Godfrey on July 16, 2014 12:24 pm

    I would love to learn more about making jewelry!

  24. michelle hallenbrook on July 16, 2014 12:35 pm

    making lovely jewelry is my bliss!, I love books, I feel I could do so much more with this book

  25. Chris D on July 16, 2014 12:36 pm

    I love making jewelry and would love to know more about how to do it so my projects would look great!

  26. Mae Conatser on July 16, 2014 12:54 pm

    I am interested in making my own beads and would love to have this delightful book. Thanx for the opportunity to win “The Complete Photo Guide to Jewelry Making.”

    Mae Conatser
    ipanema@mchsi.com

  27. Jennie on July 16, 2014 12:56 pm

    I would love to win this book!

  28. Jo Ikin on July 16, 2014 12:58 pm

    Would love to win this!!! Looks amazing

  29. Christine on July 16, 2014 1:14 pm

    I am interested in learning more about jewelry making and would LOVE to win this book!
    Thank you for the chance!

  30. Tahzeeb on July 16, 2014 1:26 pm

    I want to make jewellery professionally.this is book is awesome and will be helpful to me.Thanks for lovely opportunity:)

  31. Kathy Davis on July 16, 2014 1:32 pm

    This sounds like the jewelry making bible complete with illustrations! I’d love it as I like to make jewelry using many of these techniques.

  32. Beth Cumberlidge on July 16, 2014 1:38 pm

    Would love to make different kinds of jewelry other than stretchy, beaded, bracelets! I am a jewelry hound!

  33. Donna H on July 16, 2014 1:44 pm

    I love making jewelry, but don’t always know the best way to put things together. This books sounds amazing! Thanks for this great giveaway!!

  34. latanya on July 16, 2014 1:46 pm

    I love making my own jewelry.

    dlatany at gmail dot com

  35. Kim Ladehoff on July 16, 2014 1:48 pm

    I would love to win this book! I have several beads and beading material and this book may just be the kickstart I need to get started!

  36. Jean on July 16, 2014 1:52 pm

    I love jewelry making and need all the help I can get!! This book would be a great resource for all my jewelry making! Thanks for the opportunity to win it!

  37. Katie on July 16, 2014 2:00 pm

    Would love to start making jewelry, this book looks like it will be a big help!

    Katie
    klthill@hotmail.com

  38. Mary Rokisky on July 16, 2014 2:08 pm

    This would be a great book for any one starting to make jewelry.

  39. Rita Ortiz on July 16, 2014 2:08 pm

    I make my own earrings, but bracelets and necklaces kinda intimidate me. This book promising.

  40. Julie on July 16, 2014 2:51 pm

    This would be great !

  41. Ainka on July 16, 2014 3:53 pm

    Hey, I have been doing crochet jewelry, some beading but very interested in wire as well as Polymer clay, this book will be very helpful.

    Ainka
    vanka13@hotmail.com

  42. Karen in KS on July 16, 2014 5:18 pm

    I would love to win this book!

  43. Chrissy on July 16, 2014 5:43 pm

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  44. marlene strait on July 16, 2014 6:25 pm

    What a great prize!!!! Can never have enough books on jewelry making. Thanks

  45. SusanM on July 16, 2014 6:55 pm

    WOW! I have some of the tools shown in this book, would love to put them to work. Thank you for a chance to win this awesome guide book!

  46. Mary on July 16, 2014 7:39 pm

    I love your turquoise necklace at the top of the page would love to learn how to make that. I do make a lot of simple bracelets, necklaces and earrings. I would love a chance to wine this awesome guide book!

  47. kim on July 16, 2014 7:52 pm

    Love having a book to look at vs internet.

  48. Cynthia on July 16, 2014 8:10 pm

    Great book!!

  49. Kimmy G on July 16, 2014 8:38 pm

    I’m always looking for more materials to help me make better jewelry.

  50. Sarah on July 16, 2014 9:15 pm

    I have never made jewlery, but I’m interested to try! Thanks for the giveaway.

  51. Emily on July 16, 2014 10:42 pm

    It looks like a quality book!

  52. Jane Moulson on July 17, 2014 12:15 am

    I work at a day centre and this would be a wonderful resource to share with the ladies I care for

  53. Leigh S. on July 17, 2014 1:22 am

    I would love to win this book. I have tried to make some pieces of jewelry but need help.

  54. Lori Barquest on July 17, 2014 2:20 am

    Like everyone else, I’d love a chance to win this book. I have tried to make a few pieces but I think this book could really help me out!

  55. MelodyJ on July 17, 2014 2:48 am

    I took a class at a LBS.

    MelodyJ
    melodyj(at)gmail(dot)com

  56. Alice C. on July 17, 2014 8:40 am

    I always need help with beading — thanks for the chance to win this fabulous and informative instruction book!

  57. shellie on July 17, 2014 9:42 am

    I would love to win this book
    shellierenee@yahoo.com

  58. Alisha on July 17, 2014 9:52 am

    Lovely book. I like making my own jewellry.

  59. jo on July 17, 2014 11:19 am

    I would love to have this awesome book. I am just getting back into jewelery and could use some refreshing. Thank you

  60. Kate on July 17, 2014 6:54 pm

    I have so many beads, chains, jump rings, and all sorts of jewelry making stuff, but I don’t know exactly what to do with it all! I have never won one of these giveaways or ANY giveaways, would live to win this book so my daughter, daughter in law and grands could make jewelry together!!!

  61. red carousel lion on July 17, 2014 9:02 pm

    Fantastic giveaway.

  62. Connie Saunders on July 18, 2014 12:18 am

    Who wouldn’t want a copy? Thanks for this giveaway!

  63. Robyn on July 18, 2014 4:23 pm

    Love jewelry but my skills are low – need help like this!

  64. Deanna on July 18, 2014 9:40 pm

    Looks like a great reference for jewelry.

  65. Helen on July 18, 2014 11:08 pm

    I bought some supplies but definitely need a good how-to guide!

  66. Deborah Stoll on July 19, 2014 4:43 am

    Jewelery Making sounds amazing! I sure could use a resource manual in my endeavors to bring jewelry making to the masses.

  67. Siobhan Sturdahl on July 20, 2014 8:16 am

    I’d love to win. Siobhan. Sturdahl at gmail . Com

  68. Kathy Davis on July 21, 2014 8:30 am

    How fun!
    Kathy Davis
    kdavis1@centurytel.net

  69. BobsGal on July 21, 2014 5:27 pm

    Love it…!

  70. Linda Pawlak on July 22, 2014 9:59 am

    I would love to learn to make jewelry! Thanks for the chance to win!

  71. Sarah on July 23, 2014 12:46 am

    Thanks for the giveaway! I am so interested in learning how to do this.

  72. Dennis Mullins Sr on July 23, 2014 2:56 am

    I would love to win this book.
    Dennis Mullins Sr
    crafter6013@twc.com

  73. Winner- The Complete Photo Guide to Jewelry Making | Making-Money-With-Crafts on July 23, 2014 9:54 pm

    […] Thanks to everyone for entering the giveaway for The Complete Photo Guide to Jewelry Making- 2nd edition. You can find my review here. […]

Name (required)

Email (required) - but not published

Website

Speak your mind, and then click submit comment





    Sponsors














Follow on Bloglovin

follow us in feedly